Is Sudowrite worth it in 2026?
What the three plans cost on annual billing, how far the credits go, the expiry and refund rules, and when a general AI assistant is the better buy.
The quick answer
Sudowrite is worth it for a novelist or screenwriter who drafts most weeks, and not worth it for anyone who wants general chat or copy. On annual billing the three plans cost $10, $22 and $44 a month for 225,000, 450,000 and 2,000,000 credits, and the vendor says every plan gets every feature. The biggest catch is that credits do not convert to words at a fixed rate, Hobby and Professional credits expire at renewal, and the Professional card prints a second, unlabelled credit figure. Claude Pro, at $17 to $20 a month, is the strongest alternative for everything except fiction drafting.
Paying for Sudowrite? Get 10x more out of it.
Step-by-step tutorials for Sudowrite, Claude, Midjourney and 50+ tools, plus $3M+ in exclusive AI tool deals. 7-day free trial on the annual plan.
Short answer: Sudowrite is worth it for fiction writers who draft most weeks, and it is not worth it for general writing. On annual billing the plans are $10, $22 and $44 a month. The vendor says every plan gets the same features and differs only in credits, so the credit count is the whole decision.
Sudowrite sells itself as the AI writing partner for novelists, with its own fiction models (Muse and Ballad), a Story Bible for keeping a series consistent and a chat built for fiction. The pricing page sets out the plans and credits, and the vendor’s help articles explain the credit system in more detail.
We read the pricing page, FAQ, terms and help articles on 10 October 2026, and worked the numbers ourselves. Where the vendor’s pages disagree with each other, we say so below rather than pick the friendlier figure. Sources: Sudowrite pricing, the FAQ and the terms.
Sudowrite plans on annual billing, checked 10 October 2026
Prices are the per-month figures on the pricing page’s yearly view. This table quotes no monthly-billing price. Credit counts are the labelled figures, see the Professional note in the review.
| Feature | Hobby & Student | Professional | Max |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price per month, annual billing | $10 | $22 | $44 |
| Credits per month (labelled) | 225,000 | 450,000 (1,000,000 also printed) | 2,000,000 |
| Credits per dollar (computed) | About 22,500 | About 20,450 | About 45,450 |
| Unused credits | Expire at renewal | Expire at renewal | Roll over for 12 months |
| Who the vendor names it for | People who write for fun or school | Longer works, like a novel or screenplay | Authors who publish multiple times a year |
| Free trial | Yes, no credit card | Yes, no credit card | Yes, no credit card |
| Feature set (vendor says) | Every feature, Muse included | Every feature, with feedback on your work named as a benefit | Every feature |
What you get
- ✓Fiction-first features: the pricing cards list story intelligence, style matching, continuity across a series, a fiction chat and Muse and Ballad as fiction models, alongside more than 30 others.
- ✓One toolkit on every plan: the vendor says Hobby includes the full feature set, so you can test the product before paying for a bigger credit allowance.
- ✓Free trial with no card: every plan card says “Start Free Trial, no credit card, cancel anytime”. The trial length is not stated on the page.
- ✓Best credits per dollar on Max: about 45,450 credits per dollar, roughly twice Hobby’s 22,500 and more than twice Professional’s 20,450 on the labelled figure.
- ✓Your writing stays yours: the FAQ says Sudowrite claims no rights over what you write and does not use it to train its AI models.
The trade-offs
- ✕No fixed price per word: the same 200 words cost about 70 credits on one model and more than 8,000 on another, so a monthly budget is hard to predict.
- ✕An unlabelled credit figure: the Professional card prints both 1,000,000 and 450,000 credits, and the help article still says 1 million.
- ✕Credits expire on Hobby and Professional: only Max rolls unused credits over, and only for 12 months.
- ✕No refund on cancellation: the terms say fees are not refunded when you cancel, so timing the cancel matters.
- ✕No free plan: the free trial is the only no-cost route, and this review quotes annual prices, not monthly ones.
Worth it if…
- →A novelist or screenwriter who drafts most weeks and wants a Story Bible, series continuity and fiction models in one tool.
- →A writer who will use the Professional allowance every month, which the vendor suggests for a novel.
- →A prolific author publishing several books a year, who needs Max and its rollover.
- →A student or hobby writer who wants the full toolkit on the cheapest plan to test whether it fits.
Skip it if…
- →Anyone who wants AI for email, reports, marketing copy or non-fiction. The vendor calls the product the AI writing partner built for fiction.
- →Anyone who mostly chats and edits short passages, who would do as well with a general assistant.
- →Anyone who needs a predictable cost per word, because the vendor says credits do not map to words.
What Sudowrite sells in 2026
Sudowrite sells one product at three price points. The pricing page’s structured data says every plan gets every feature, Muse included, and that the plans only differ in how many credits you get each month. The cards list the fiction features the same way: story-aware writing and rewriting, matching your writing style, continuity across a series, a chat for fiction, and Muse and Ballad, the vendor’s own models for fiction, alongside more than 30 others.
So a Hobby subscriber gets the same toolkit as a Max subscriber with roughly one-ninth of the credits. Choosing a plan is choosing a credit budget, and the rest of this review is about what a credit buys.
What a credit actually buys
Sudowrite says there is no fixed rate from credits to words. The credits a task uses depend on how much story the model reads, how much it writes and which model you pick. Its help article gives one example: a 200-word continuation cost about 70 credits on GPT 5 Nano and more than 8,000 on Claude 4.1 Opus. That is more than a hundredfold gap for the same length of text, so the model menu matters as much as the plan.
Using that single example as a rough guide, the Hobby allowance covers about 3,200 continuations on the cheap model and about 28 or fewer on the premium one. Professional, at its labelled allowance, covers about 6,400 and fewer than 57. These are illustrations, not a promise. The help article also says the Professional allowance “might allow you to generate anywhere from 50,000 to 500,000 AI words in a month”, a range that shows how much the choices matter.
The Professional credit question
Check this before you pay. The Professional card shows the labelled allowance in its main line and in the structured data. The same card also prints a larger, unlabelled “1,000,000” figure, and the Max card’s “2x as much!” badge only works against that larger number. Sudowrite’s help article on credits, last updated on 7 January 2026, still describes Professional as 1 million credits, and its word range was written for that figure.
We use the labelled figure, so our per-dollar math is the conservative one. If the larger figure is right, Professional gives about 45,450 credits per dollar, the same as Max, and Max would then be worth it for its rollover alone. Public pages cannot settle the question, so check the Professional allowance in your account before you commit.
Which plan fits which writer
Hobby is the test plan. The vendor says Hobby is probably fine if you mostly chat and use Quick Edit, because those features barely use credits. It suits a student or someone checking whether AI drafting fits their process, not a full manuscript.
Professional is the plan the vendor suggests for a novel. Its help article says that if you want to write a novel in 30 days, you probably want at least Professional, because it gives a lot of AI support from the Story Bible. Unused Professional credits expire at renewal, though, so a writer who works in bursts pays for the quiet months.
Max suits an author who publishes several books a year, and it is the only plan with rollover. Unused credits carry for 12 months while you stay subscribed. Max costs twice Professional and gives about 4.4 times its labelled credits, so it only makes sense if you would use all of Professional’s allowance every month and still want more, or if you need the rollover.
Refunds, expiry and cancelling
The FAQ says to cancel from your subscription page, with no phone calls. The terms matter more. Fees are not refunded on cancellation. Upgrading earns a prorated refund for unused time on the old plan, and downgrading keeps the old plan until renewal. Monthly credits left unused at renewal expire unless the plan has rollover. Credits bought separately do not expire.
Your projects stay accessible after you cancel, but AI features stop until you pay again. Before you renew, open the gear menu and check “Show Recent Activity” to see which features used your credits. Because fees are not refunded, a writer in a quiet month should cancel before the renewal date.
The alternative: a general assistant
Claude’s pricing page lists Pro at $17 a month on the annual discount, billed up front at $200, and $20 billed monthly. That buys a general assistant for drafting, editing and plot planning in a chat window. It does not buy a fiction product with a Story Bible, continuity features and a fiction model menu.
On price, a general assistant and Professional are close, so the decision rests on features and credits. If you mostly edit your own chapters, the general assistant covers it. If the Story Bible and continuity tools save you hours on a long project, Professional is a fair price for them. Academy data: our library holds 23 fiction writing prompts and 25 short story prompts. Paste them into any chatbot to test how you work with AI before you pay for a fiction tool.
The verdict
Sudowrite is worth it for a novelist or screenwriter who drafts most weeks. The fiction features, the Story Bible and the model menu are what you pay for, and Professional is the plan the vendor suggests for a novel. Check the Professional credit figure in your account before you commit, because the pricing page and the help article disagree on it. Our per-dollar math uses the labelled figure.
For general writing, skip it. A general assistant costs about the same as Professional and covers drafting, editing and planning. Sudowrite wins only when its fiction tools save more time than the credit budget costs. Start with the free trial on the Hobby plan, run one real chapter through the Story Bible, and read the usage view before you move up.
Better alternatives?
If it is not the right fit, these are worth a look.
Claude Pro
About $17 a month on the annual discount and $20 billed monthly. A general assistant for drafting, editing and planning, without a fiction-specific toolkit.
Jasper
A writing platform aimed at marketing copy rather than fiction. Choose it for brand copy, not novels.
ChatGPT Plus
The broadest single assistant. Its review covers what the paid tier adds over free.
Free fiction prompts
Our library has 23 fiction writing prompts and 25 short story prompts, worth trying before you pay for a fiction tool.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Sudowrite cost in 2026?▾
On annual billing, the pricing page shows $10 a month for Hobby & Student with 225,000 credits, $22 a month for Professional with 450,000 labelled credits (a 1,000,000 figure is also printed), and $44 a month for Max with 2,000,000 credits. Monthly-billing prices are not quoted here, so these are annual figures.
Is there a free Sudowrite plan?▾
No. Every paid card carries a free trial with no credit card needed, and you can cancel at any time. The pricing page does not state how long the trial lasts.
How many words do Sudowrite credits buy?▾
There is no fixed rate. Sudowrite says credits depend on the feature, the AI model and how much story the model reads. In its own example, 200 words cost about 70 credits on GPT 5 Nano and more than 8,000 on Claude 4.1 Opus. Its help article, written when Professional was described as 1 million credits, says that allowance might cover 50,000 to 500,000 AI words a month.
Do unused Sudowrite credits roll over?▾
Only on Max. The pricing page lists a 12-month rollover on the Max card. Monthly credits on Hobby and Professional expire at the renewal date. Credits you buy separately do not expire.
Can I get a refund if I cancel Sudowrite?▾
The terms say fees are not refunded on cancellation. Upgrading earns a prorated refund for unused time on the previous plan, and downgrading keeps the old plan until renewal.
Is Sudowrite worth it compared with ChatGPT or Claude?▾
For fiction drafting with a Story Bible and continuity features, it can be. For general chat, editing and planning, a general assistant covers most needs. Claude Pro is $17 a month on the annual discount and $20 billed monthly, as its pricing page showed on 10 October 2026.